A taste of Hawaii in Inglewood

So there’s a cute little (B.O.) spot located on Crenshaw Blvd. called Retro Girl’s Hawaiian Ice Shack.  I’ve seen it a few times and always wondered what was inside and finally made the stop.  Acknowledging jazz music playing out front on a tiny speaker, I walked in with The Eagle and was blown away with all the color, flavors and energy of the tiny place.

“I never knew this was here!” I literally yelled while entering the shop.  The owner smiled and welcomed us in.  “Oh I love jazz and check out the posters on the building!”

I also kept running my mouth about how amazed I was with all the shaved ice flavors and combinations of which they’re known for.

“Oh wow, you have over 20 flavors!”

There’s a specific taste for everyone from Coconut, Green Apple, Guava to Haupia.  Along with your refreshing shaved ice, she also offers an array of toppings to add to it.  You can find more photos on her Instagram Page for she’s not on Facebook.

retro girls

If in the mood for some else, The Retro Girl also offers 36 tropical ice creams flavors, varied fruit juices, banana splits – of which I purchased and additional Hawaiian themed treats.

In addition to her offering a “sweet” taste of Hawaii, I too appreciate her commitment to the community.  There’s patio seating outside and if lucky you can catch a movie playing outdoors on the side of the building – For Free!  I respect her excitement in seeking ways of involving the neighbors.

Well, now you have no excuse to not indulge in the islands of Inglewood.  Now go grab you some ice…shaved ice that is.

Amenities ***
Customer Service ***
Cleanliness ***
Experience ***
Taste **
Price ***

Leave a comment