Little spot on Crenshaw

(Facebook repost)

As a Firefighter, The Eagle has toured this town longer than I have so he knows of a few places here and there.  If you’re at the corner of Crenshaw and Manchester in Inglewood, you should stop pass this little spot called Moby’s Coffee Shop.

As usual we pull up to find street parking out front.  Always great service, this tiny room sits across from Biglots with two large windows to choose from if trying to look outside.

“How’s it going?” the waitress ask.  She’s actually speaking to The Eagle.  Clearly they don’t know about the Delectable Delights <chuckle>

We order.  I tend to only get their french toast because the pancakes don’t offer much taste.  The Eagle is more of a grits or rice person with a side of eggs.  He leaves the sweet tastier starches for me.  I take a bite, “cool” I say with approval.  My selections are always accompanied by scrambled eggs and bacon.  What I enjoy is the powdered sugar across the soft bread and butter served in mini cups.  “Who uses so much butter?” I always shockingly ask.  I CAN NOT stand huge gobs of butter all over my food, don’t find it necessary and it’s such a waste.  “Maybe I could start telling them to only bring half the amount of butter,” I suggest at the table.  This topic seems to always concern me, not that Moby’s offered a lot, just conversing.

IMG_9712.JPG

I now feel story time is upon us.  The Eagle starts, “I remember this little old lady cooking up everything by herself, man she was cool”.  He smiles with joy every time he shares his memories.  I try to imagine it with him while interrupted by the waitress asking if everything is ok with their service.   I smile to the both of them.

Besides the food, what is always interesting is that it is operated by Asians, but have taken the time to cater to their African-American clientele.  What do I mean?  Sometimes I sit and chuckle while viewing all the black art/photos on the walls.  Does it bother me?  No, not at all!  However, I can’t help noticing it and the combination makes me laugh.  I truly respect it and understand.  I simply appreciate any business that is sensitive to their guest.

Over all the food is decent, but the prices are great.  If in a hurry you can call in your order for pick-up.  Open for years, this (F.O.) restaurant is much appreciated and offers great customer service every time.

Amenities (parking, location, seating, menu selections, etc) **
Customer Service (greeted, helpful, polite, checking-in, etc) ***
Cleanliness ***
Experience (themed, music, atmosphere, energy, etc) ***
Taste **
Price ***

Leave a Reply

