Learning to pipe

LOOK WHAT I DID!!!IMG_3005.JPG

And you can do it too!

It’s another day, sun is out, birds are chirping.  So what’s a girl to do, but bake cupcakes.

I was invited to a party and wanted to offer something different then what I usually do.  Sure, there were other cupcakes there, but I’m proud to say they didn’t look as good as mine.  And I DON’T mean that in an evil, negative way.  Just an observation that presentation really is key.  This I always new, but to see it once again was a great reminder – hence wanting to learn how to pipe.  AND NO, all of mine were not superb, but the effort was well received and I appreciated that.

So I jump in the bakemobil and headed out to a few shops to gather some supplies.  After doing some research I learned the tips I wanted were 1M, 2A and 2D of which are pictured below.   I tossed them in the cart – ‘ting’, the tips bounced against the bar.

“That’s her!” a woman whispers in the aisle.

“Is she looking at cupcake supplies?” another voice quietly observes.

I figured I needed some bags, but came across a link mentioning using zip locks. “Now may not be the time to explore,” I mumbled to myself. Figured I needed to learn the correct methods before making stuff up.

I finally make it home.  No Delectable Delights or B around to indulge in this journey.

“Let’s begin,” I say out loud.  I placed the tip inside the bag first to estimate how much I needed to trim off. I wanted to leave room for the tip to sit comfortably inside the bag allowing half of the tip to be exposed.pipping.jpg

I also made sure I had a tall plastic cup to use to stabilize my icing while stuffing it inside.

(meaning it’s easier to place the bag with trimmed edge inside the cup with the tip place below.  Fold down the edges of bag outside of the cup.  Fill with icing using a spatula, roll edge of bag back up, remove bag from cup and gently twist the top of the bag for closer).

“Jeeze, why did I do that?” I announced in frustration.  I had a hard time starting from the center and circling around.  Felt like I was spinning and spinning and my layers weren’t properly graduating.  “Nothing to it, but to do it” offering encouragement to myself as I continued leading my tip at an angle.  As a newbie, it was an easier introduction to begin from the outside of the base and circle into the center, gently pressing down and squeezing slightly with a quick pull up to offer a finished center peek.

I also learned I could use canned icing/frosting (two different things) of which is what’s displayed below.  I know scratch is better and trust, most of what I do is scratch, but I already had two cans at home and thought, “what the heck, just use it up”.  And yes I made sure to add a spoon of powdered sugar into the can.  Once finished, I placed the mini cakes in the fridge to assist with hardening the icing.

Piping tips used…1M/Open Star created the chocolate top left, 2A/Large Circle created the cream cheese blop drops bottom left and 2D offered the Rose shape.

Other information I gathered was that I could freeze cake batter.  I didn’t know.  Well, I never needed to freeze batter before, but I knew I didn’t want to take a lot of cupcakes.   So I read I could store in a freezer zip-lock air tight bag of which I did.  I’ll keep you posted if I notice a change in taste when I pull it out for next time…of which I’m sure there will be.  And you know what, allow me to leave you will a cupcake recipe.

Over all I had a great time.  Learned a little, improved a little, messed up a little all in the good name of Baking (BIG SMILES).  If you all have any tips/advice to offer – please do so!  I’m open to your words of wisdom.  Until then, bake on everyone. XOXO

RECIPE:

Basic Chocolate Cake/Cupcakes

1/2 cup shortening

2 cups sugar

2 eggs

1 ounce unsweetened chocolates squares (melted)

2 1/4 cups cake flour

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

3/4 teaspoon salt

3/4 cup buttermilk

3/4 cup water

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

  • Beat shortening until fluffy, gradually adding sugar
  • Add eggs, one at a time
  • Add chocolate and continue to mix together
  • Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and buttermilk
  • Add chocolate mixture, but don’t over beat
  • Last, stir in water and vanilla
  • Spoon batter into muffin pans lined with paper baking cups, filling half way

Bake at 350 degrees for 15-18 minuets. Allow cupcakes to cool before icing or eating.  Add your own choice of icing.

3 thoughts on “Learning to pipe

  1. I’ve never been good at it, but maybe because I’ve always improvised and never had a real piping bag (though I think I’d still mess it up then haha). But hey, practice makes perfect, right? Either way, those cupcakes look delicious, thanks for sharing the recipe too.

    Would you be interested in sharing recipes with our community of passionate foodies? We’re always on the lookout for fun, new and delicious recipes like this one. You can find us right over here: https://www.facebook.com/groups/OnlyGoodEats and on Instagram @Creatorsdotco (where we share creations from the Good Eats community!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

