Cupcake Critiques (4 those w/ short patience)

You know, sometimes it’s best to just get to the point.  You know, is it good or not?  No time for sites that talk you up and down and all around.  Well Q, that’s what blogging is about… I guess.  My issue isn’t so much the stretched out rambling, but that some blogs have the same language, the same set up.  A story about their grandmother, which goes into a flashback as a child, something dramatic as an adult that gets tied around relationships or health then – BAM, the recipe!  Well, no lie, I shall offer a few of those myself here and there because sometimes they’re fun, but with my time in-between, LETS MIX IT UP!  (FYI these are all located in CA)

Getting To The Point #1 – Crumbs Bake Shop

Always dry, will never go back.  However for some reason my best friend likes them.  She’s a loser!  Why are they popular?  I have nothing else to say and refuse to post a photo (arms crossed).

Amenities *
Customer Service ***
Cleanliness ***
Experience ***
Taste *
Price *

Getting To The Point #2 – The Good Cake Company

(B.O.) company located on Hillcrest Blvd. across from Vons and/or post office.  Absolutely enjoy them, however are limited with their selections.  They pretty much only offer cupcakes. Nevertheless, you can place an order for a full size cake, pie or cheesecake.  Really good texture and taste!  Got The Eagle hip to them and he too enjoys.

The Eagle and I tried four flavors, Peanut Butter Cup, Snickers, Cookies & Cream and Cinnamon Roll.  AND note they are priced at a whopping $2.50. Now come on, better than the average $3.25 elsewhere right?

IMG_1211.JPG

These cupcakes were yummy and YES, I have already gone back when in the area.  What I enjoyed was how moist they were.  Out of the four, my favorite was the Snickers. Why?  Well, it was similar to the Peanut Butter Cup (chocolate and peanut butter flavored) however I’ve learned I prefer a chocolate cake/base with a peanut butter cream/icing.  The Peanut Butter Cup was a peanut butter cake with chocolate icing and that combination didn’t work for me.  I like the peanut butter as an accent rather than the focal point.

IMG_1204.jpg

Second place was a joint decision <LOL> between Oreo and Cinnamon Roll leaving Peanut Butter last in the box.  Don’t worry, I’ll definitely be back to try more.

Another plus is their location offers enough metered street parking.  Other businesses in Hollywood or LA  have SUCKY parking and access to their businesses, which interrupts my intentions to visit often. They’re in Inglewood over by The Forum if you need a larger landmark.

I must say I offer so much respect to all of you who take the time to create such beautiful cupcakes and other desserts.  For myself I do what I can, but I’ll get there people – I’ll get there. <chuckle>

Amenities ***
Customer Service ***
Cleanliness ***
Experience ***
Taste ***
Price ***

Getting To The Point #3 – Frosted Cupcakery

I soooo dig them.  The cost sucked at $4 for such a small cupcake.  The cool part is that they’re moist, light and offer a variety of flavors including gluten fee.  However, here’s the deal.  At the time they were located in Hollywood, but are now in Long Beach with a new appearance and added flavors.  Now priced at $3.25 per cupcake, they have shifted into more of a bakery.  Go check them out.  Oh and ask if they’re still doing their monthly mini socials = free mini flavor of the month cupcakes!  I will definitely return and check out the selections below!

frosted.jpg

 

Note, they also offer Seasonal Flavors and Flavor of the Month.

Amenities ***
Customer Service ***
Cleanliness ***
Experience ***
Taste **
Price **

Getting To The Point #4 – Magnolias

I went for the first time when they literally just opened in Los Angeles back in 2010.  Like 3 days old, just opened.   My friend Shola and I checked them out.  Those mini cakes were $2.75 which I so respected and tasted yummy.  The downfall was that they only offered chocolate, vanilla and red velvet of which I’m not really a huge fan of.  I assumed their limitation was due to them just opening up.  Well, it being 2017, they now offer more flavors costing $3.25 a cupcake.  There are now also brownies, cookies, cakes, pies and cheesecakes to also explore.    If on 3rd street near the Grove, stop pass and note they have varied locations all over.  Check their website.

17630130_1427223367321144_7097270102897387651_n.jpg

Amenities **
Customer Service ***
Cleanliness ***
Experience ***
Taste **
Price **

Getting To The Point #5 – Cobblers, Cakes & Kream

IMG_2090.jpg

 

 

 

I think they’re just ok.  No need to constantly return even though we do .  Basic bakery, (B.O.), appreciate their efforts, but not fan.  Nonetheless, we still buy from them time to time.

 

Note they make other items such as cookies, cakes, pies, cobblers and now bread pudding.  Hope the title didn’t give it way LOL!!!

Amenities ***
Customer Service ***
Cleanliness ***
Experience **
Taste *
Price **

 

One thought on “Cupcake Critiques (4 those w/ short patience)

  1. I literally just read an LA Times article about Crumbs going out of business due to financial problems. Even though I disliked the company, I never want to see anyone have to close their doors.

    Like

Leave a Reply

