A Sabbath Stew while in Israel

My apologies for not posting yesterday on Sunday.  I guess my days are a little busier than I thought.

Well, It’s been a journey while here in Tel Aviv, a good one.   I woke up worried about breakfast – no electricity to be used.  Laid in bed for a second, a moment of thanks and gratitude, then off about my day.

T was my roommate while staying at Hotel Cinema – an Atlas Boutique Hotel.  She’s actually Jewish.  I thought, she must be ecstatic to have a sabbath while here on this land.

Anyways, I get out the bed.  I felt responsibility at my door.  “Let’s do it,” I tell myself trying to get pumped.  Another long day ahead and the people depend on me.  “<Sigh> what’s for breakfast,” I question out loud.  Clearly I’m speaking to myself for my roommate already left the room.

I head downstairs following the sounds of dishes and light chatter.  I look around, light stares, open seats, so I grabbed a plate.  “Hmm, not sure what this is, but I notice raisins and apricots – must be sweet” (which means yummy in my head).  I hoped for the best as I dump it onto my plate.  “Well, here we go,” as I make an attempt to send positive encouragement to my tongue and mind.

“THIS IS GREAT – WHAT IS IT?” asking with excitement!  By this time other co-workers of mine have joined me for the morning meal.

13320975_10209088050494118_441615999401814102_o.jpg

I quickly learned it’s a sweet stew usually served during Passover called Tzimme.  It’s  typically made with carrots and dried fruits such as prunes, raisins, or apricots and often combined with other root vegetables like sweet potatoes.  Slowly cooked over low heat, most add a sweetener such as honey to drizzle on top.

I place the fork at my mouth once again.  I couldn’t believe what I was tasting.  Every item had its place yet knew how to come together offering a warm, soft, slightly sweet, yet filling morning experience.  My company and I offered a head nod of once again approval of this jewish plate.  For days I was so disappointed with my meals, learning to adjust.  However, THIS was worth waiting for.

Of course I had to learn how to make this beautiful dish upon returning home.

IMG_1039.jpg

RECIPE:

Tzimme

Tzimmes Recipe

3 pounds of sweet potatoes (about 4 large) peeled and cut into chunks

2 pounds of medium carrots, cut into 1/2 inch chunks

1 package (12 ounces) pitted, dried plums, halved

1 cup orange juice

1 cup water

1/4 cup honey

1/4 cup packed brown sugar

2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

1/2 cup butter, cubed

  • Grease a 13×9″ baking pan/dish
  • Combine first three ingredients in greased pan
  • Mix and add the remaining ingredients to pour over vegetables
  • Cover and bake for 1 hr
  • Uncover, dot with butter and bake an additional 45-60 minuets, carefully stirring every 15 minuets or until vegetables are tender and sauce is thickened. (serves 12)

Recipe provided by Taste of Home /

Suggestion:

  • Personally I added a handful of diced onions to mine to break up the sweetness
  • I also added apricots and raisins like how I had it in Israel. This recipe doesn’t mention it
  • Omit the butter for religious or personal health reasons and consider an oil
2 thoughts on “A Sabbath Stew while in Israel

Leave a Reply

