What I learned about Grits

I enjoy grits and like to think everyone does to some degree in varied fashions.  My grandmother would eat them with cheese ALL THE TIME!  Oh wait, but I can’t forget her vienna sausage on the side.  For myself, as a kid I’d go for the pathetic butter and sugar approach or the lets die from a heart attack with butter and season salt approach – BOTH versions I held on a pedestal LOL  Nowadays I’ve learned to explore them fried or combined with pork, gravies, eggs, garlic, you get the picture.

Grits, originally a Native American dish has become a regular in the United States, specifically in the southern states.  I’ve learned the name Grits is simply a term for a pounded form of dried corn.  As for Hominy Grits, which is something different are prepared from corn that has been soaked in a weak lye solution and hulled.  Hominy refers to the type of grain that is used to make traditional grits.  Hmm – didn’t know!  They’re a larger grain.  Unfortunately, many people use both terms in general unless you’re from a specific region who knows the history of the item.   I guess I shall continue my research of grits.

IMG_0736.JPG

 

Usually recognized as a breakfast item, in the south you can come across them served with pork, seafood in the Carolina’s and as soufflés up north.  Note, you can prepare Grits in varied ways.  You can slow-cook them, this version most of us are accustomed to by adding liquid until they have a creamy texture as pictured above.  You can quickly prepare them, which offers a grainy texture.  Grits can also be fried of which I have tried and  will explain below.

RECIPE:

FRIED GRITS:

1 tbs butter or oil to 1 cp of left over grits

  • Press the grits together creating a ball to create round patties or a square to cut  1/2″ thick strips in any length you desire.
  • Heat the butter or oil in a frying pan
  • When hot, place patty or strips in pan, turning occasionally until edges are lightly browned
  • Serve hot with syrup, butter or whatever your favorite condiment shall be

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “What I learned about Grits

Leave a Reply

