Last Minuet for the Holidays

OMG so I almost didn’t post anything today.  Why?  Not because I don’t love my blogging family, but because I’ve been in dream land with my 5 day holiday vacation and lost track of reality.  Therefor, my last minuet for the holidays post shall be a cake I made for The Eagle.  PS, I’ve been meaning to make this for him since forever – such a loser!

IMG_2069.JPG

I made a Hummingbird Cake!  It was my first one.  He enjoyed it, but soon learned he’s not a big fan of cream cheese icing LOL With that said, he told me to make it again but replace the cream cheese for a vanilla or butter.  Actually, I mixed a little vanilla with the cream cheese trying to thin out the flavor, but I guess my effort wasn’t enough.  Well, that’s easy to fix for next time because I pretty much ONLY believe in butter cakes and butter icing.  I mean, why eat anything else?

FullSizeRender.jpg RECIPE:

HUMMINGBIRD CAKE

  • Mix first 5 ingredients together, then slowly add eggs and oil.
  • Next stir in following 4 items.
  • Pour batter into 3 – 9″ cake pans which need to be greased and floured.
  • Bake 350 for 25 minuets or when toothpick is clean and allow cakes to cool before removing from pan.

My personal changes were that I did not include the pineapple into the cake mixture, but instead with the center filling.  I also added coconut shaving to the exterior because The Eagle likes coconut cake.  Also, I went with two layers instead of three.

3 cps            flour

1 ts                baking soda

1/2 ts            salt

2 cps             sugar

1 ts                cinnamon

3                     eggs

3/4cp              oil

1 & 1/2 ts       vanilla

1 & 3/4 cps   mashed bananas

1 can              crushed undrained pineapple

1 cp                pecans

2 cps              coconut shavings (optional)

HAPPY BELATED THANKSGIVING (that’s if you celebrate)

 

 

One thought on “Last Minuet for the Holidays

Leave a Reply

