A Cheesy Family

Yesterday was National Cheesecake Day!  So in celebration I have decided to share a couple of cheesecakes my family and I have made.

I absolutely love baking and being in the space.  I’m a true believer of this place being the heart of the home.  It’s a space filled with a little joy for everyone and brings people together.  A place children can learn right from wrong and adults hold private conversations.  It creates messes, but acts as a platform for some of your best creations.  It’s where you run to for a drink or a late night snack when you simply can’t take it anymore.  It’s called the kitchen everyone!

A few years ago my grandmother passed away and I decided to make a baking apron using her clothes.  She was always in the kitchen therefore this was my creative and personal way of keeping her close.  Every time I bake it’s important to wear my apron.  If I don’t wear it I feel like I’m cheating or doing her wrong – like it’s a sin, weird huh?  I even went out and bought aprons for my nieces and nephews.  LOL “Kids, go put your on Nanna!” <chuckle>

Well, while passing down the baking apron torch, my niece has been baking and cooking away with my mother over the summer.  Once a week they create something new to share with everyone and guess what they made?  You got it – cheesecake!

IMG_0733-2.JPG

 

 

Isn’t it adorable!  I’m not a hater on her pre-made graham cracker crust for its one I use on a regular.  I also appreciate her nicely thin cut fresh strawberries.  I’m very proud of my niece for making her first Strawberry Cheesecake and look forward to many, many more.

 

Now my ‘cheesy show and tell’ is a Peanut Butter Fudge Brownie Cheesecake.  The first one I ever made was for my friend James’ birthday.  I was so nervous with how it would turn out, but YIPPEE!  Everyone enjoyed it and I’ve been making it ever since.

IMG_9919

 

The chunky peanut butter cheesecake filling sat comfortably atop a gooey fudge brownie covered with strokes of chocolate and caramel drizzling down the sides.  And of course I had to finish it off with a heap of crushed peanut butter cups and other delicious toppings.

 

Feel free to share how you celebrated National Cheesecake Day and if you need a ‘fancy – cheesy’ cheesecake recipe scroll down below.

 

 


RECIPE:

KEY LIME CHEESECAKE WITH STRAWBERRY SAUCE

2 cps              graham cracker crumbs

1/4 cp             sugar

1/2 cp             butter, melted

3 – 8oz           cream cheese, softened

1 & 1/4  cp     sugar

3                      eggs

1-8 oz            container sour cream

1 & 1/2 ts       grated lime rind

1/2 cp             key lime juice

 

  • Grease 9 inch springform pan
  • Stir together graham crackers, sugar and butter.  Press to bottom of pan and up to an inch on sides.
  • Bake crust at 350 for about 8 minuets.  Allow to cool.
  • Beat cream cheese in an electric mixer until fluffy.  Slowly add 1 & 1/4 cp sugar, beating until blended.  Add eggs one at a time, stir in sour cream, rind and juice.  Pour batter into your crust.
  • Bake at 325 for an hour then turn the oven off.  Partially open door, leaving the cheesecake in the oven for 15 minuets.  Remove and immediately run a knife around the edge to assist with releasing the sides.
  • Allow the cheesecake to cool, then cover and chill for 8 hours.  When ready to serve, garnish with strawberry sauce.

 

STRAWBERRY SAUCE

1 & 1/4 cps       fresh strawberries

1/4 cp                sugar

1 & 1/2 ts          grated lime rind

 

  • Mix everything together until smooth.

 

Tips: If you want to freeze your cheesecake, remove from pan, place on round cardboard and tightly wrap with aluminum foil.  Thaw in the refrigerator a day before serving.  Can freeze up to a month.

3 thoughts on “A Cheesy Family

Leave a Reply

